top American College of Surgeons

Since the American College of Surgeons was first established, it has awarded Honorary Fellowships to individuals who:

(a) possess an international reputation in the field of surgery or medicine, or

(b) have rendered distinguished humanitarian services, especially in the field of medical science.

Honorary Fellows shall not be required to pay fees or dues but shall enjoy all of the privileges of the Fellows except that they shall not have the right to vote or to hold office. Optimally, Honorary Fellowship should be conferred in person, however, under exceptional or extraordinary circumstances, other methods for presentation may be considered and approved by the Honors Committee.

It is customary to grant such honors to four or five candidates annually, but there is no requirement to do so.

The following surgeons from our country have been bestowed this highly regarded distinction:


1922 Jose Arce
1923 Marcellino Herrera Vegas
1941 Pablo Luis Mirizzi
1967 Juan Martin Allende
1971 Emilio Etala
1977 Andres A. Santas
1990 Rene G. Favaloro
2002 Juan Carlos Parodi
2007 Juan M. Acosta
2009 Vicente P. Gutierrez
2014 Prof. Alberto Raul Ferreres, MD, PhD, MPH, FACS
2015 Prof. Eduardo de Santibañes, MD, PhD
Membresia Home Secretaria